Jiangxi Jiujiang Nengren Temple, China
China Travel Tips
Embassy & Visa
The temple was built from 530 to 540 AD, it was in the years of Southern Dynasty when King Liang Wu Di was alive. Later the temple a war destroyed it structure.
In 769, the Da Li Period of Tang Dynasty, master of Chan, Bai Yunrui rebuilt the temple. In the years of Hong Wu Period of Ming Dynasty, the temple expended it construction. In the 2nd year of Hong Zhi Period of Ming Dynasty, after some repairing, the construction was renamed Nengren Temple.
However, the army of Heavenly Kingdom of Peace (1850 ~ 1864A.D.) in Ch'ing Dynasty again destroyed it. The constructions you can see today, were built in the 9th year of Tong Zhi Period of Qing Dynasty, except the Temple.
In ancient times, the area of the temple was one of the three famous Buddhism places of Jiangxi Province (the other two destroyed temples were Longchi Temple and Sheli Temple).
The area of Nengren Temple is about 3,000 square meters. The main constructions of the temple are: the Daxiong Baodian (the Sakyamuni Hall), the Guardians Hall, the Iron Buddha Hall, the Chan House of both sides and the Cangjing Pavilion.
The Daoxiong Baodian is grand and beautiful with a statue of Sakyamuni in the center. In the Iron Buddha Hall, there is a statue of Mile Buddha. In the Cangjing Pavilion, there are lots of scriptures and Buddhism relics.
There are corridors between the main constructions. In the temple, there're eight famous scenic spots: the Dasheng Pagoda, the Shuangyang Bridge, the Fei Lai Shi Boat, the Yu Chuan Stone, the Ice Mountain, the Snow Cave and the Iron Buddha Statue.
During the past several centuries, the Nengren Temple became an important temple of Southern China. And it also became the material of a pop novel Er Nv Ying Xiong Zhuan written in Ch'ing Dynasty, in the book, there's a story about a girl turned over the Temple.